Sladest 2011

Salvo, September 19th, 2011


Originally released in the UK in September 1973, Sladest emulated recent Slade singles by going straight to the top of the charts. After relinquishing the summit and hovering around the Top Ten towards the end of the year, it climbed back up to the Number One spot in early 1974 in the wake of the huge success of their next single Merry Xmas Everybody.

That seasonal smash wasn’t included on the album, but Sladest did contain all of Slade’s hits up to that point, as well as several singles released prior to their chart breakthrough and a handful of tracks from their underrated second album (released late in 1970), Play It Loud.

37 years, 11 months and 19 days later, Salvo are releasing an expanded version which includes three further highlights from the period concerned - the No. 2 hit My Friend Stan, its no-nonsense, rocking B-side My Town and the ingenious Django Reinhardt / Stephane Grappelli pastiche Kill ‘Em At The Hot Club Tonite (the B-side of Skweeze Me Pleeze Me) - plus a previously unreleased version of Hear Me Calling, the track with which they opened their live show for many years. The latter recording, more tightly structured than the classic, build-to-a-roar Slade Alive version (though featuring an almost identical guitar solo from Dave Hill), lay entirely forgotten until recently discovered on a vinyl acetate – which was once the property of drummer Don Powell - and serves to further strengthen the appeal of what is, to many, Slade’s strongest album. Capturing the band at the height of the glam rock fame, it contains some of the very best pop songs of the seventies.
  • The original smash hit album, expanded with four extra tracks including a previously unreleased studio version of Hear Me Calling – with the original gatefold LP packaging carefully reproduced 
  • Includes no less than five UK Number One hits 
  • Remastered by Tim Turan at Turan Audio for the finest sound quality 
  • 16-page booklet includes new sleeve notes by respected scribe and Slade aficionado Chris Ingham incorporating new interviews with Dave Hill and Don Powell
  • Perhaps the group’s finest long player, a fantastic addition to Salvo’s celebrated Slade catalogue
  • The first appearance of Sladest on CD since 1997
01. Cum On Feel The Noize
02. Look Wot You Dun
03. Gudbuy T’Jane
04. One Way Hotel
05. Skweeze Me, Pleeze Me
06. Pouk Hill
07. The Shape Of Things To Come
08. Take Me Bak ‘Ome
09. Coz I Luv You
10. Wild Winds Are Blowin’
11. Know Who You Are
12. Get Down With It
13. Look At Last Nite
14. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
15. Hear Me Calling (studio version)
16. My Friend Stan
17. My Town
18. Kill ‘em At The Hot Club Tonite

Noddy Holder has also done a sizeable interview with UNCUT magazine, which will be part of a six-page Slade feature out in October 2011 and there will be more press and media coverage around the release.

Like me, you have probably noticed that the October Uncut came out in September and features Marc Bolan. I therefore assume that the Slade Special will be in the November issue that comes out in October.... I hope?
I'm told it will be in the next issue which will hit the stands at the end of October (with December on the cover I guess).