We'll Bring The House Down

Buy This CD
We'll Bring The House Down

Cat. No.:SALVOCD007
Playing Time:56:39

Combining a selection of songs from their overlooked 1979 LP Return To Base with a bagful of brand new compositions, the 1981 album We'll Bring The House Down represented the triumphant return of Slade as a commercial force. Also included here are the remainder of the tracks from Return To Base plus three Non-LP bonus cuts.

Track List
1 We'll Bring The House Down
2 Night Starvation
3 Wheels Ain't coming Down
4 Hold On To Your Hats
5 When I'm Dancing I Ain't Fighting
6 Dizzy Mama
7 Nuts Bolts And Screws
8 My Baby's Got It
9 Lemme Love Into Ya
10 I'm A Rocker
11 Chakeeta
12 Don't Waste Your Time
13 Sign Of The Times
14 I'm Mad
15 Ginny, Ginny
16 Not Tonight Josephine
17 Okey Cokey
18 9 To 5
Following the successful 1980 Reading rejuvenation, 1981 saw the release We'll Bring House Down. Kicking off with the title track, a real rocker, it's almost as metal as Slade could get.
'Night Starvation' a modern chunky rocker with a catchy riff and vocal harmonies. A rightful return to the charts. The album combined some of the rockier tracks from the long overlooked/forgotten 1979 album Return To Base with some new numbers, and this CD comes bolstered by the remaining Return To Base numbers (to complete that album too) and some bonus cuts.
A mixture of metal, rock 'n' roll and new wave pop that worked remarkably well. Highlight is 'Dizzy Mama', a lengthy southern style boogie, a kind of nod at ZZ Top at their best. And for a bit of fun there's also Slade's rendition of 'Okey Cokey'. Left me smiling, but not sure in what context. Oh and Dave Hill with a shaven head - not pretty sight.
* * * *
Joe Geesin

Searching for the UK zeitgeist, 1979's now abjectly obscure Return To Base ironically had a pleasingly diverse, reinvigorated musical palette. The album and a subsequent EP were plundered for material to fill out We'll Bring The House Down, released on the back of their 1980 Reading Festival triumph. Now bolstered by the remaining tracks and three singles, it's Slade's finest post-70s album. Tweaking the pop-rock template in line with the punchy, unquestionably British sound of Rainbow, Gillan et al, Slade sounded fun again and sound fantastic on this remaster.
* * * *
Colin Harper
Record Collector

No comments: